Online safety when viewing this site
There are ways to cover your tracks if you're worried someone is checking your internet use
If someone you know is abusing you, you may not want them to know that you have been looking at this site. If that person can use the same computer as you, it is possible for them to see how you've been using the internet.
The only certain way to prevent someone else finding out what web pages you have been viewing is to use a computer which they do not have access to; this could be at a local library, a friend's house, or an internet cafe.
Using your home computer safely
If you've no choice but to use your home computer to look at our website, there are things you can do to help cover your tracks. However, there are so many different systems, web browsers and computers, that we cannot offer a comprehensive guide to removing any evidence that you have looked at information on a Victim Support website.
A lot of web browsers now have a 'safe' or 'private' mode. If you turn this on it means that when you quit the browser your site history and other 'evidence' of what you've been looking at will automatically be deleted. If this isn't an option, the most important things you will need to do to 'clean' your computer after browsing our site are deleting your browser's history and cache. This won't get rid of all information on your system about the websites you've been looking at - but they are the first and most important things to do. To find out how, look in the 'help' menu of your browser programme or search on Google - there are plenty of step-by-step guides online to show you how to do this.
We've suggested a few links on the right to help get you started but be aware that software is updated regularly and this information could easily become out-of-date.
You also need to be aware that if you update your computer - for example by installing a new web browser or updating to the latest version - you may need to reset your settings.